SDIKA - Showcase Secure Digital Identitites Karlsruhe

Current information on our Twitter channel:

Secure digital identities are an important driver for digital transformation, as they can establish trust between interconnected systems, people and organisations in diverse use cases from government and the private sector. None of the solutions available today can meet all possible use cases on its own, as the requirements differ greatly in some cases due to varying degrees of regulation and business interests. However, the acceptance of a solution by people and organisations depends on the breadth of the supported applications in addition to the ease of use.

In the project “SDIKA - Secure Digital Identities Karlsruhe”, the goal is to realise wide-ranging, cross-use-case identities in open ecosystems. Technical, semantic and economic interoperability should promote the use of solutions that guarantee high functionality, security and sovereignty. The SDIKA project follows a triad of the development of the location-independent “SDI-X system”, demonstration and evaluation in the Karlsruhe showcase and the establishment of a supra-regional ecosystem.

The SDI-X system is intended to enable each acceptance point to connect all identity solutions existing in the ecosystem via a local “SDI-X adapter”. People and organisations should be able to choose between identity solutions of different types (in a cloud or locally on a smartphone). Application-specific and sovereign electronic identities (for example, the electronic identity card) are to be supported. The benefits are to be demonstrated to citizens and organisations in the Karlsruhe showcase using relevant use cases from the areas of health, mobility, digital planning and construction, digital urban society and e-government (e.g. Karlsruhe passport). SDIKA creates a municipal ecosystem of acceptance points and trust services with close links to the city’s digitalisation strategy and makes digital identities tangible for Karlsruhe residents on a daily basis. The results will be made available nationwide after the end of the project.


SDIKA is one of four projects nationwide funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Protection (BMWK) as part of the competition “Showcase Secure Digital Identities”. The City of Karlsruhe, represented by the Office for Information Technology and Digitalisation, is coordinating the project. Other participating departments are the Ordnance and Citizens' Office and the Karlsruhe City Youth Committee. A total of 14 partners from all over Germany are working together on the project, including several participants from Karlsruhe such as the FZI Research Centre for Information Technology. SDIKA started on 1 September 2021 and will run for three years.


Projektüberblick

Interim results

You can already find many project results in the section publications. Up to our 2nd milestone, more results have emerged:



Many thanks for the sponsorship:

Funded by the BMWK on the basis of a decision of the German Bundestag

Contact


Wolfgang Toppazzini

Contact person
SDIKA consortium leader: City of Karlsruhe
City of Karlsruhe
Office for Information Technology and Digitalisation
Digitalisation Department
Project Management Office
Kriegsstraße 100
76133 Karlsruhe
Mail: wolfgang.toppazzini@it.karlsruhe.de
Phone: +49 721 133-1767

Dr. Jan Sürmeli

Scientific contact person
FZI Research Centre for Information Technology
Research area of Software Engineering
Berlin branch
Friedrichstraße 60
10117 Berlin
Mail: suermeli@fzi.de
Phone: +49 30 7017337-339

Gefördert durch das BMWi aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Sichere digitale Identitäten sind ein wichtiger Treiber für die digitale Transformation, da sie Vertrauen zwischen miteinander vernetzten Systemen, Menschen und Organisationen in diversen Anwendungsfällen aus Verwaltung und Privatwirtschaft herstellen können. Keine der heute verfügbaren Lösungen wird alleine allen möglichen Anwendungsfällen gerecht, da sich die Anforderungen durch variierende Regulierungsgrade und Geschäftsinteressen teils stark voneinander unterscheiden. Die Akzeptanz einer Lösung durch Menschen und Organisationen hängt jedoch neben der Nutzungsfreundlichkeit von der Breite der unterstützten Anwendungen ab.

Im Vorhaben „SDIKA – Sichere Digitale Identitäten Karlsruhe“ wird das Ziel verfolgt, reichweitenstarke, Anwendungsfall-übergreifende Identitäten in offenen Ökosystemen zu realisieren. Technische, semantische und ökonomische Interoperabilität sollen die Nutzung von Lösungen fördern, die eine hohe Funktionalität, Sicherheit und Souveränität garantieren. Das SDIKA-Vorhaben folgt hier einem Dreiklang aus der Entwicklung des ortsunabhängigen “SDI-X-Systems”, Demonstration und Evaluation im Schaufenster Karlsruhe und dem Aufbau eines überregionalen Ökosystems.

Das SDI-X-System soll es jeder Akzeptanzstelle ermöglichen, alle im Ökosystem existierenden Identitätslösungen über einen lokalen “SDI-X-Adapter” anzubinden. Menschen und Organisationen sollen selbst zwischen Identitätslösungen verschiedener Art (in einer Cloud oder lokal auf dem Smartphone) wählen können. Dabei sollen anwendungsspezifische und hoheitliche elektronische Identitäten (zum Beispiel der elektronische Personalausweis) unterstützt werden. Der Nutzen soll Bürgerinnen und Organisationen im Schaufenster Karlsruhe anhand relevanter Anwendungsfälle aus den Bereichen Gesundheit, Mobilität, Digitales Planen und Bauen, Digitale Stadtgesellschaft sowie E-Government (z. B. Karlsruher Pass) verdeutlicht werden. SDIKA schafft ein kommunales Ökosystem aus Akzeptanzstellen und Vertrauensdiensten mit enger Verzahnung zur Digitalisierungsstrategie der Stadt und macht digitale Identitäten für Karlsruherinnen täglich erfahrbar. Die Ergebnisse sollen nach Projektende bundesweit zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

SDIKA ist eines von bundesweit vier Projekten, die vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs „Schaufenster Sichere Digitale Identitäten“ gefördert werden. Die Stadt Karlsruhe, vertreten durch das Amt für Informationstechnik und Digitalisierung, koordiniert das Projekt. Weitere teilnehmende Dienststellen sind das Ordnungs- und Bürgeramt sowie der Stadtjugendausschuss Karlsruhe. Insgesamt arbeiten 14 Partner aus ganz Deutschland im Projekt zusammen, darunter mehrere Teilnehmer aus Karlsruhe wie beispielsweise das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik. SDIKA startete zum 1. September 2021 und hat eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren.

Herzlichen Dank für die Förderung:

Gefördert durch das BMWi aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Kontakt

Wolfgang Toppazzini

Stadt Karlsruhe

Amt für Informationstechnik und Digitalisierung

Abteilung Digitalisierung

Project Management Office

Kriegsstraße 100

76133 Karlsruhe

E-Mail: wolfgang.toppazzini@it.karlsruhe.de

Telefon: +49 721 133-1767

Dr. Sascha Alpers

FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik

Forschungsbereich SE

Haid- und Neu-Straße 10-14

76131 Karlsruhe

E-Mail: alpers@fzi.de

Telefon: +49 721 9654-616

Dr. Jan Sürmeli

FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik

Forschungsbereich IST

Außenstelle Berlin

Friedrichstraße 60

10117 Berlin

E-Mail: suermeli@fzi.de

Telefon: +49 30 7017337-339